Deacon Eldred House

The Town of Sandwich Planning Department is overseeing the planning and future of the Deacon Eldred House to help preserve this important historical piece of our Town and region. Information, as available, will be posted here.

  1. History
  2. RFP Info
  3. Studies & Info

Deacon Eldred House 4 Water St.

black and white image of large, historical houseThe Deacon Eldred House, at 4 Water Street, Sandwich was built originally in 1756 on the site of an earlier 17th century home. The Thornton Burgess Museum occupied the building until 2013. The house contributes greatly to the Town Hall Square Historic District, and is located within the Old King’s Highway Regional Historic District. The Massachusetts Historical Commission holds a preservation restriction on the property.”  

color picture of historical multi-level houseSandwich was settled in 1637, as an agricultural village. It was the first settlement on Cape Cod, and was incorporated only two years later. Approximately 60 families were among the group that originally arrived. Today, there are seventy-five extant 18th century homes in Sandwich, but only nine from the 17th century. This makes 4 Water Street a unique site, in that it consistently housed at least one family for more than 330 years. *

4 Water Street 2015

modern color picture of historical multi-level house

* McGinley Kalsow & Associates Inc., Assessment Report June 2015.